Our Competitions

Competitions 2021

We were delighted to be able to run a simplified version of the Scarecrow, Garden and Allotment Competitions in 2021. Although scaled back, an awards ceremony was held in the Guildhall to celebrate the winners.

Scarecrow Competition (judged by the Mayor):

1st – Diane Youngman
2nd – Carole Day
3rd – Richard Edward Shaw

Daisy 1 Day richandjac 1

Gardens Competition (all awarded Silver Gilt):

Diane Youngman
John Reardon
Jo and Chris Selley
Robert Stokes and Bricketts Hospital Almshouses

Diane 5 reardon 8

Allotment Competition:

Best Newcomer (nominated by The Wardens):

Diane Youngman (Tunnel)
Chris and Cathy Goddard (Stratford Road)
Lauren Morgan (Fisherton A)
Steve Shepherd (Fisherton A)
John Coakley (The Butts)
Emma Pearce (Cow Lane)
Frank Harrison (London Road)

Bronze Awards:

Robert Hope (Tunnel)
James Haggaty (Fisherton Farm C)
Yvonne Toon (Wares Acre)

Silver Awards:

Colin Whatley (Stratford Road)
Chris and Pam Christian (Coldharbour Lane)
John Toon (Warres Acre)
Nigel Ansty (Fisherton Farm C)
Mr M Sartin (Coldharbour Lane)

Gold Awards:

Stephen and Carole Day (Tunnel)
Debbie Neale (Fisherton Farm A)
Richard Edward Shaw (Warres Acres)
Mary Reardon (Tunnel)
David Shearing and Amanda White (Butts)
Tony Oke (Warres Acres)
Terence White (Butts)
Diane Youngman (Tunnel)
Christine Pape (Stratford Road)

Overall Winner – Stephen and Carole Day (Tunnel)

2019 Summer Competitions

Salisbury City Council were proud to host an awards ceremony at The Guildhall on Wednesday 18th September. The evening celebrated the winners of the scarecrow, city gardens and allotment competitions. The awards ceremony was held in The Guildhall and certificates were presented by the Mayor of the City of Salisbury, Cllr Mr John Walsh.

Many congratulations to everyone who took part.

Awards were as follows:

Scarecrow Competition 2019

1st place - Braemor Lodge

2nd place - Justin Saint

3rd place - Richard Shaw

4th place - Chris Christian

rita 1 Worzel 1 Clint 1 Mr Smart 1

City Garden Competition 2019

Bronze Awards

Mrs M Drake

Silver Awards

Mr Roland Calcutt

Penny Hardiman

Hilary Glyde and the Maplecroft Community Garden

The Old Ale and Coffee House

Silver Gilt Awards

8th Salisbury Beaver and Cubs Group – Rama’s Garden (St Marks Open Space)

Mr and Mrs Dolding

Gold Awards

John Reardon

Keith and Kathy Lawrence

Maplecroft 4 Ramas Gdn 4 greenwood av 11 Ridgeway 10

Allotment Competition 2019

The Butts 1st Terry White; 2nd Z and C Hardiman; 3rd Amanda White

Coldharbour Lane 1st Francis Bray; 2nd Mr M Sartin; 3rd Chris Christian

Cow Lane 1st Bruno Drag; 2nd Kevin Martin;3rd Barney Fuller

Fisherton Farm 1st Nigel Anstey; 2nd James Haggaty; 3rd Keith Barnes

London Road 1st Mr P Edginton; 2nd Mr P Tenty; 3rd Horace Cyphus

Stratford Road 1st Mr and Mr C Whatley; 2nd Christine Pape

The Tunnel 1st Mary Reardon; 2nd Mr D A Dolding; 3rd Mr S Day

Warres Acres 1st Richard Shaw; 2nd Tony Oke; 3rd Yvonne Toon

Wiltshire Road 1st Ray Schwender; 2nd Maureen Allenby-Brake

OVERALL WINNER: Richard Shaw from the Warres Acre Site

2018 Summer Competitions

An Awards Ceremony was held at the Guildhall, Salisbury on the 18th September 2018 to recognise the hard work of volunteers as well as celebrate the Scarecrow, Gardens and Allotment Competition.

The evening was introduced by David Bradley, Environmental Services Manager and certificates handed out by the Deputy Mayor of Salisbury, Councillor John Walsh.

Many congratulations to everyone who took part.

Awards were given as follows:

Scarecrow Competition 2018

1st - Mr Potato Head created by the Early Intervention Service

Mr Potato Head 

2nd - The Happy Gardener created by Amanda White and David Shearing

The Happy Gardener

3rd - Mr Stripey created by Mrs M Drake

Mr Stripey


Volunteer of the Year was given to Janet Mitchell, Friends of Victoria Park

Life Time Achievement – Pam Rouquette (to recognise the many environmental and wildlife groups Pam has been involved with over the years)

Garden Competition 2018

Silver Awards: 

Jess Voremberg

Cooks Court 1 Jess

Mrs M Drake

Mrs Drake

Silver Gilt Awards:

Mrs Mary Reardon

Rama’s Garden (8th Salisbury Beaver and Cub Group)

Ramas Garden 1

Gold Awards:

Keith and Kathy Lawrence

Keith and Kathy Lawrence

Robert Stokes and Bricket’s Almshouses Community Garden

Robert Stokes 11

Gold Gilt Award:

Braemar Lodge

Braemar 1

Allotment Competition 2018

The Butts: 1st Terence White; Joint 2nd Sandra Ellis with David Shearing and Amanda White; 3rd Mr C R Whatley 

Coldharbour Lane: 1st Francis Bray; 2nd David Bugden

Cow Lane: 1st Keith Lawrence; 2nd Richard Fuller; 3rd Mr J C Allnutt

Fisherton Farm: 1st Debbie Neale (Fisherton A); 2nd Nigel Anstey; 3rd Marianne Clare (Fisherton A)

London Road: 1st David Waspe; 2nd Mr P Edginton; 3rd Peter Tenty

Tunnel: 1st Mrs Mary Reardon; 2nd Mr S Day; 3rd Mr D A Dolding

Warres Acres: 1st Richard Shaw; 2nd John Toon; 3rd Tony Oke

Warres Acre and Wiltshire Road: 1st Richard Shaw; 2nd John Toon; 3rd Mr and Mrs P Allenby-Brake

OVERALL WINNER – Keith Lawrence